Multi-tasking According to Mai Toast

Oh, multi-tasking. A word most familiar to busybodies, health professionals, and those who are always on-the-go types. A word I was never used to, but have accomplished with as much flexible dexterity can be gathered.

:tilts head to one side: my name is Mai Toast (my close friends call me Mel) and as much as I would like to deny it, multi-tasking is what I’ve been doing the past few months, nay, the last few years!

This month of March, I will be leveling up my multi-tasking skills, due to the fact that even though I’m already on “overdrive” mode, a “gestalt” mode will be achieved several times I surmise. I say this because I have a few key things happening: a new job occurring in a new field that will be in a new location.

The new job is in healthcare, and will be a different perspective for me since my work experience has been primarily based in customer service roles and information technology. And you know what? I am looking forward to this hard yet rewarding experience. It’s going to be tough, working 12-hour shifts, 3 to 4 days a week, but if I can at least make a difference in one person’s life, then it will all be worth it.

Instead of servicing a computer and trouble-shooting problems so that a solution can be found, I will be teaching someone become more self-succifient. Working in a group home setting and assisting mentally-challenged individuals is going to be unnerving and hard, but with a compassionate heart, tons of patience, and hard-work, my clients and I will be working together in achieving their individual goals.

As for the new location, I’ll be leaving my beloved metropolitan city and moving into a smaller town. Just don’t tell Homer J. Simpson that I’m moving to Shelbyville. He wouldn’t like that one bit :winks: It’ll be quite a change for me since I’ve lived in a big city my entire life. Should be great, though, and might even give me more free time for writing with less distractions around me.

I will also be moving with my boyfriend, and let me tell you right now: co-habitating is an experience by itself. Not only do I have to contend with my needs and wants, I will now be adding his needs and wants as well. Thankfully, he likes Filipino cuisine and Asian dishes because I do like to cook pancit, adobo, and lumpia shanghai almost every other week.

Multi-tasking isn’t easy, and it isn’t for everyone. It takes time management and organization, but so long as one keeps to a routine, it can be achieved. For example, I like cooking, but I also know that I can’t cook every day so when I do cook, I make portions that may last a couple of days. Everyone has their own strategy in how-to multi-task, and there is no one right way. I end up with a few different ways to achieve what I need to be done on a daily basis so be prepared to have to change tasks based on the time available. It will be harder, at times, to achieve everything you want to, and with what I have on my plate, I’m slightly bracing myself for tiny setbacks. Just keep plugging through, and don’t give up. Taking breaks is highly recommended in the form of playing a video game or two :smiles:

I hope to one day being able to focus on one or two things at a time instead of juggling several things at once. I think that it will be a much relaxing albeit boring experience. As for me, that’s all I got. I still have a Stargate to find!

How do you feel about multi-tasking? Is it something you practice? We’d love to know. Feel free to share your inquiries and comments below.

One Comment Add yours

  1. rossmeister says:

    Multi-tasking is a reduction in the thing that you need to concentrate on the most so that you can do something else partially at the same time. If you take the time to do each to the fullest extent possible before starting the next task, both will be done more fully than to do each partially at the same time. And when you do more than two things at the same time, you are reducing the quality that much more. In the end, you end up with a pile of junk and nothing has been done correctly, even though more than one thing was worked at the same time.

Leave a Reply

