No fire breathing at Dragon Theatre

Today’s Callback was interesting. It was for a play called WONDERFUL WORLD, by Richard Dresser. It took me some time before I warmed up, and even longer to finally feel that familiar fire of Playfulness in an audition space.

I wish I could say I went in really dying to earn the part, but in reality, I was just happy to be there, period. If all I had was one round of readings, I’d probably be okay with that.

But as chance would have it, I had at least six. So hey, not a bad way to start the week! A quick glance at the other participants and I already had a sneaking suspicion I was the odd man out. The play calls for two brothers, two wives and a mother. There were no other asian/pacific islander types there…in fact, there were just two other guys. Hah…catch my drift?

Anyway, I was totally okay with that. Again, I was just happy to find myself back in this. Lately, I’ve been putting in more hours into the “9 to 5” and less in the passion corner. When that starts to happen, my eye brows do this funny thing of turning inward and downward.

Post audition, I linked up with a fellow participant who I could curiously say, I had profound amount of chemistry with. We chatted, drank and dined at NOLA, just a few blocks away. It was fascinating to hear how she ended up discovering and chasing Acting. I don’t think I’ll ever grow tired of learning how other people discover their passions.

Not a bad way to top off the night, I must say. And an even better way to star the week!

More decor from NOLA.

Bottoms up.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Susannah says:

    And the director was pleased with your audition. There were moments of humor, sincerity, risk and variety in your readings. The director would not have invited you personally to the audition or allowed you to come to callbacks had race or talent excluded you from being a true candidate. You’ve grown a LOT in the years I’ve know you, and you earned the right to audition (which for a director who is painfully honest, straight forward, and hates to waste two minutes of anyone’s time, is really saying something.) What was exciting about this script was that I had NO idea WHO I would cast when I read it. Usually I know the TYPE, but honestly I was open to anything. There is nothing in the script that says the fathers of these brothers are the same, or that they weren’t adopted. There is even evidence to support that perhaps they aren’t related full blood. And, so it was exciting to see what everyone came in with. Very few people nailed this audition, the process for this play is going to be a great exploration of comedy, timing, and finding the really realatable characters in this surreal, shocking, chaos of honesty that is the script. It wasn’t as clear cut as you might imagine is all I’m saying. In the end I believe innate, intuative understanding of the timing of the script was stronger in the other two callback candidates. That’s all. I look forward to directing you again in a part that you can fully shine in, in the near future. For now, I’m glad you made a new friend and I’ve no doubt your billion and one projects you have going on will keep you plenty busy for now. Well done.

    1. Your honesty is one of the qualities I love about you! Thanks for the comment. I really did have a good time, after I knocked the mental cobwebs. And yeah, I after reading it throughout the day, I realized that -hey, maybe they’re adopted! And I agree about the innate and intuitive understanding. Thanks for letting us sit in and observe. I learned something!

      Thanks again for seeing me and yep, it’s always fun! On to the next, right? I’ll be back to see your show. Next project is the promo video for the New Play Development Factory, at Dragon. In the door, one way or another, haha. Have a great week and I’ll see you around town! xxoxopejdrandomlettersofstuff

Leave a Reply

